Counting, Carbs, Calories and Cookies

I’ve been receiving a lot of messages and emails lately asking what I count. Do I count carbs? Do I count calories? Do I analyse my macronutrient intake? Do I count the number of water drops that hit my shoulders in my morning shower? Well, maybe not the last one. But to me it’s all the same.

20141018-110041.jpg
I DO NOT COUNT. Not those things anyway. I know that statement may offend some people in this lifestyle but I simply don’t have the time or patience to count all day.

To me counting carbs is almost like thinking of it as a daily carb allowance you get to spend. To see how close to the edge of the ‘sweetville cliffs’ you can get without falling over.

So how have I successfully lost weight without ‘counting’?

20141018-110337.jpg
I have educated myself on what foods I can eat… I eat them when I am hungry and I eat until I am full. I’m not trying to trick myself into eating less cake, lollies, chocolates, bread, pasta etc. I just don’t eat them. My food process of thinking goes like this.

FAT: I want lots of good fats. These fuel my body and make me feel satiated. Every meal I enjoy includes a good portion of healthy fats. Be it butter, coconut oil, eggs yolks, bacon grease etc.

PROTEIN: Moderate protein helps my cells rebuild and muscles stay strong. I eat a good amount of Grassfed beef, chicken, pork thought my week.

CARBS: The only real carbs I put in my body come from vegetables, some berries, nuts… Things like that. I enjoy them in moderation as a side to a dish not as the hero. I never go looking for carbs in the form of sugars, high fructose fruit & veg, breads, pasta, chips etc.

I have found that by choosing my food this way I don’t need to ‘count’. Be smart with what you eat and be accountable with your progress. If your weight loss stalls think about your week and where you may have possibly had a few too many carbs. Then adjust next weeks intake accordingly.

It’s that simple. This is a lifestyle, not a diet. The only things I want to count now is KGs lost, pant sizes dropped, days out and about playing with my boys instead of vegging on the couch in a ‘carb coma’, the extra hours in my day now that I am no longer fatigued.

This is a lifestyle. Go out and LIVE!

Think smart about your food but don’t obsess about counting if it’s a stress to you. If like the caped character above you ‘Love To Count’ then go for it…. 1 Carbohydrate, 2 Carbohydrates, Mwuh ah ah ah.

20141018-110651.jpg

6 thoughts on “Counting, Carbs, Calories and Cookies”

  1. thank you for the newsy update and the encouragement…much needed at the moment!!! I too have little PATIENCE with the counting…interesting post…thank you…fudge

  2. Hi,

    I love your posts. They are very encouraging. Originally thin due to a small frame and once awesome metabolism, I yo-yoed my weight up to 320 lbs. About 4 years ago my husband was diagnosed with Multiple myeloma, a blood cancer. He went through chemotherapy and ultimately a stem cell transplant. During this time I lost almost 200 lbs. I was down to 125 lbs for almost 3 years. Last year I began to slowly gain again. In June, my husband got a staph infection and has since passed away. Unfortunately during that time my eating habits veered off course. I am now up to 168 lbs and can see myself getting into the old me that I did not want to be. I can eat all the good fats and proteins, even the good carbs such as leafy greens, berries and nuts. My BIGGEST drawback and enemy is my penchant for sweets and salty snacks. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, if there is a way for me to beat the sugar cravings help me with that advice. I will be 57 next month and I am trying to permanently reverse the weight gain for a healthier lifestyle. As I said , I am educated in what to eat, but I am not too disciplined in staying away from the sweet and salties, which we all know are mainly the dreaded CARBS. Please???

    1. Cynthia, I don’t know if this idea will help but quite often when I’m craving something off menu and I just tell myself NO the idea lingers in my head until occasionally I give in. What has helped me is not saying no, instead saying… later after you eat something good, high in fat and satisfying. I find once I do that and eat what I should Ril I’m satisfied the cravings go. To make that easier too try having good LCHF meals premade and on hand in the freezer.

      I hope those small ideas help. Thanks so much for sharing your story!

  3. Hooray for another voice of reason. I get terribly discouraged by all the gabbling about carb counts, especially on US based sites or Fartface pages. I too think like you, but I sometimes feel like a pariah. I like your idea for staving off scoffing carbs. I too just don’t buy them, but maybe once a month I do deliberately make a bad food choice. Just so I can feel great when I get back on track. My last one was ice cream and cake when on holiday in Italy. Just did not want pasta or pizza, but ice cream and cake shouted. It was nice, but now back on track.

  4. Hey I just found your website so defnitely adding it to my wordpress reader. I am longing to find more low carb diet blogs. I must say though I love counting carbs, calories etc. I actually look forward to it. I’m a scientist so I just love to crunch numbers. I would agree what you were saying if it wasn’t for that reason.

Leave a Reply

