Holy Mole… Chocolate Chicken?!

I have been wanting to try out a recipe idea for a while and thanks to Her Majesty’s birthday party today (to which I was not invited) I had the time to make my version of Pollo en Mole Poblano – Mexican Chocolate Chicken.

20140609-193414.jpg

I diced 1 large brown onion, 1 green capsicum and 1 yellow capsicum then finely sliced a red chilli and browned them all off in some olive oil and butter. Once golden brown I added a splash more oil and on high heat added in 2 tablespoons of Mexican chilli powder, 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin and the same of ground cinnamon, 2 teaspoons of cracked black pepper and garlic powder, 1 teaspoon of smoked paprika and 1 teaspoon of hot cayenne pepper.

20140609-211346.jpg

Make sure you have the vent going by the way… The spices are quite pungent 🙂

Once the spice mix had cooked into other ingredients and begun to darken I added 60grams of 85% dark chocolate and stirred through while it melted. Next in goes 1 can of diced organic tomatoes and 2 cups of chicken stock.

I gave all this a good stir and placed into the sauce 1kg of chicken thigh fillets. The covered pot then went into a 160°c oven for the next 2 hours. After 1 1/2 hours I added 2 good handfuls of almond meal to the pot, gave it a stir and removed the lid for the final half hour of cooking.

The chicken literal just fell apart with a spoon and all though it had some great kick the chocolate / spice balance was perfect in my book.

I will be making this a regular in my cooking repertoire and encourage you to give it a try. Serve with toasted sesame seeds on a bed of cauliflower rice.

20140609-212409.jpg

One thought on “Holy Mole… Chocolate Chicken?!”

Leave a Reply

