Creamy Roast Pumpkin & Cauliflower Soup

The weather has turned cool and crisp here of late which is a nice change from 40°c days working in the sun and a perfect excuse to start experimenting with LCHF soups.

This week I whipped up a very creamy Roast Pumpkin & Cauliflower soup with Bacon Croutons.

I started by roasting half a Kent Pumpkin in my usual fashion drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with smoked paprika, onion & garlic powders and mixed herbs.
20140512-112835.jpg
While that was roasting I sautéed 1 large chopped brown onion in butter and olive oil along with 2 cloves of garlic. Next I added 2 full heads of cauliflower chopped into the pot and have it all a good stir.

Once the cauli was coated in the oniony garlic goodness I poured in 1.5 liters of chicken stock. I allowed this to simmer for 45mins before blitzing smooth with a stab blender. I then added the pumpkin and 300ml of pure cream and blended once more. Season to taste and served with crispy, streaky bacon croutons.

This would be the creamiest, yummiest pumpkin soup I’ve made to date (and I’ve made quite a few) and it’s perfect LCHF fare.

20140512-112951.jpg
Makes 5lt so plenty left over 🙂

3 thoughts on “Creamy Roast Pumpkin & Cauliflower Soup”

  1. Ah, I love this recipe! The only thing I changed, was instead of the dairy cream, I added my usual dash of coconut cream for that silkiness. It helps that I have a commercial grade blender, it makes even creamless soups creamy.

    I think it’s nothing short of incredible the way you’ve turned your health around, amazing job uncle of mine!

    x

Leave a Reply

