Day 25

Back home from work for two days and after a good nights rest it was weigh in time…. I am very excited to say I have left the 130s behind me. I have reached 129kg this morning and shall never return beyond!

As a treat I decided to cook something for dinner tonight I have never cooked before. My ‘go to’ roast meat has always been beef, followed closely by lamb, pork or turkey. For some reason in the past 20 years of cooking I had never tried roasting chicken. Why did I wait sooooo long? It was delicious.

20140124-201743.jpg

It was so quick to prepare. My method was simply to take one organic, grass fed chook. Place a pierced lemon and some fresh herbs (sage, rosemary, thyme and marjoram) into the cavity, and seal it into a large oven bag with 2 peeled onions, 5 organic baby carrots, 4 chopped celery stalks, some garlic, salt & pepper and olive oil. Baked at 170°C for 1hr 40mins. The dish was accompanied by some pumpkin and sweet potatoe roasted in olive oil and fresh steamed broccoli.

Simple, delicious and great for us! So flavour full no gravy was required…. Just a spoonful of the garlicky, lemony pan juices.

5 thoughts on “Day 25”

    1. Yeah I’m going to be trying that too! Just the lemon and herbs in the cavity add so much Flavour and make yummy Pan Juices!

      Next time I have a couple days at home I’m going to make either Confit Chicken or Duck. Confit Duck is my favourite dish ever! Maybe with a lil zest and fresh orange squeezed over the top to finish.

Leave a Reply

